Night Owls


Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

PUT THIS IN YOUR DEN for some classic soul re-imagined Jamaican style - heavy soul and dub infused jams. Night Owls features members of The Lions and The Aggrolites, plus an all-star roster of today's best soul singers (e.g., Durand Jones, Kendra Morris, Afrodyete, etc).

Available on black wax

Since their debut 45 back in 2019, Night Owls have consistently taken the bar up a notch re-imagining classic funk & soul with a Jamaican twist. With eight sold out 45’s in a span of three years and regular airplay on BBC6, KCRW and more, we’re happy to announce this much anticipated LP “Versions” comprising all their groove filled singles to date.

This all-star production team comprised of Dan Ubick (The Lions, Connie Price and the Keystones, De La Soul) on Guitar & Percussion, Blake Colie (Arise Roots, The Lions, Hollie Cook) on Drum Kit, Dave Wilder (The Lions, Ziggy Marley, Macy Gray) on Bass, and Roger Rivas (The Aggrolites, Jason Mraz, LBDA) on Organ & Piano, team up with many of today’s top soul singers to bring their signature take on beloved chart topping hits and deep cuts. Featuring vocalists Afrodyete (Breakestra), Terin Ector (Orgone), Durand Jones (The Indications),  Malik “The Freq” Moore (The Lions), Alex Désert (Hepcat, The Lions), Jesse Wagner (The Aggrolites), Jamie Allensworth (Jungle Fire), Sy Smith (Macy Gray, Sheila E.), Chris Dowd (Fishbone), John Arther Bigham  (Fishbone, Soul Of John Black), Kevin Sandbloom, Kendra Morris and Destani Wolf (Matisyahu, The Pharcyde), each track was carefully selected by producer Dan Ubick to match the featured vocalists strength resulting in a heavy soul and dub infused LP that surely won’t want to leave your turntable! Produced by Dan Ubick and Night Owls. Recorded and Mixed by Dan Ubick for DanUbe Productions at The Lions Den in Topanga, CA.

“What an amazing rendition of the song “Gossip” by Night Owls. Great work on a song that I wrote and produced, almost 50 years, ago, for Cyril Neville. Amazing.” - Leo Nocentelli (The Meters)

“Sounds funky good!” - Lonnie Jordan (War)


Track List
School Girl Crush (feat. Kendra Morris)
Groovin’ (feat. Jamie Allensworth)
You Got To Be A Man (feat. Sy Smith)
Gimme Little Sign (feat. Chris Dowd)
Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) (feat. Terin Ector)
Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get (feat. Alex D sert, Jesse Wagner & Malik “The Freq” Moore)
Aht Uh Mi Hed (feat. John Arthur Bigham)
Gossip (feat. Malik “The Freq” Moore)
Me and Baby Brother (feat. Kevin Sandbloom)
There’s A Break in the Road (feat. Afrodyete)
Put On Train
Let’s Stay Together (feat. Destani Wolf)
This Christmas (feat. Durand Jones)